APC convention: S/East leaders reject dep chairman, opt for national secretary

Written by on March 3, 2022


The last may not have been heard about the controversy surrounding the proposed March 26 National Convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as South East leaders have rejected the position of deputy national chairman purportedly zoned to the region.

At a well-attended meeting at the Imo Governor’s lodge Abuja, they opted for the party’s national secretary.


In attendance were Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodimma, his Ebonyi counterpart, Dave Umahi former Senate president Ken Nnamani and member a member of the APC Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), Senate Chief Whip, Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu, Minister of Science and Technology, Dr Ogbonaya Onu, Minister of Labour & Productivity, Dr. Chris Ngige, Minister of State Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Hon Minister of State Mines Dr. Uche Ogar. Others are Sen. Frank Ibezim, Sen. Osita Izunaso, Nkeiru Onyejiocha, Dep. Chief whip House of Reps, Amb Jerry Ugokire, Chief Gbazuagu N. Gbazuagu, Hon Nze Duru, Hon Mariam Onuoha, Hon Austin Chuwukere among others.

They unanimously  rejected the position of Deputy National Chairman and cautioned the leadership of the party against taking away the slot of the National Secretary from the South East region

The leadership described as an injustice, any move to allot the office to the Deputy National Chairman to the region (South East) based on individual interest against the entire region.

They warned the leaders from the South East not to accept the position of the Deputy Chairman and appealing to the two governors from the region to ensure justice is done to the people of the region.

In the communique issued at the end of the meeting the leaders argued that since the party recently adopted that all offices previously held by officers from the two major zones of the country should alternate, the case of the South East should not be an exception in the interest of justice and equity.

They also argued that both South West and South South have occupied top positions of the party previously like the National Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande, Chief Odigie Oyegun and Adams Oshiomohle and the current National secretary Sen. John Odoedehe Akpan.

The APC South East leaders further argued that the statistics left the zone out of the party’s leadership equation, adding: “We are calling on the national leaders of our great party not to marginalise the South East in the composition of the forthcoming National Executive of our great party.

The leaders equally emphasised that it would amount to gross injustice to the region should the office be zoned to the South West which presently occupies the position of vice president and the office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track