Nigeria, Mauritius retain seats in UN rights committees

Written by on April 19, 2022


Nigeria and Mauritius have retained their seats to serve for another four years in the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR) from 2023 to 2026.

The candidates from the two countries are re-elected to occupy the two remaining vacant positions for Africa in CESCR.

CESCR is the body of 18 independent experts that monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights by its States Parties.

Egypt and Morocco were elected to occupy two seats of the four seats for African Group in 2021 and Egypt currently chairs the committee as a member of the Africa Group.

The remaining two were contested for on Wednesday at UN headquarters by Nigeria, Cameroun, Malawi and Mauritius.

Nigeria won at first ballot scoring 39 out of the 54 ballots of Member States.

Malawi lost out and Mauritius and Cameroun competed for the remaining one seat because they were both even on votes.

Mauritius clinched the second seat knocking out Cameroun. So, Nigeria and Mauritius retained their two seats.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track